Architecture Department seeking Council for Excellence members

The Texas A&M Department of Architecture is recruiting members for its newly formed Architecture Council of Excellence, an elite group of department friends and former students who are committed to supporting and enhancing architecture program excellence, building relationships with students, and bridging gaps between the academic and professional worlds.

The Architecture Council of Excellence membership drive was kicked off during the department’s Oct. 27 reception at the Texas Society of Architects convention in Dallas with presentations by former student members Reagan George ’58, Velpeau Hawes ’58, Donna Kacmar ’92, Scott Roselius ’89 and David Zatopek ’85.

The former students discussed council objectives, which include:

  • Providing financial support for the department and students through scholarships and endowments supporting activities (such as the department’s lecture series), department initiatives, academic chairs and professorships;
  • Advocating on behalf of the department and college;
  • Acting as liaisons between the department and the architectural and allied professions; and
  • Advising the department and shaping its vision.

Council membership fees range from a $50 annual charge for students and interns, to $2000 lifetime memberships. The “regular member” annual rate is $200. A $1000 gift to the department qualifies individual donors for a “Premier” membership and companies for an annual “Firm or Business Entity” membership. Firms must select a representative to vote on council matters.

“Any individual who supports the Department of Architecture through an annual membership fee is a voting member of the council and can participate in all council events,” said Ward Wells, interim department head.

At the Architecture Council of Excellence’s spring 2012 meeting, Wells said, members will gather to finalize bylaws and operational principles, set goals and aspirations and elect its first group of officers.

For information on council membership, contact Melinda Randle at or 979.847-8918, or join online by visiting the Department of Architecture’s [website] ( at the Texas A&M Foundation. Once there, select the “Architecture Department Excellence Fund” and write “Architecture Council of Excellence membership” in the special instructions. Make sure to mention your desired membership level.

posted December 6, 2011