Arch. dept. showcased student projects at May 9 celebration

Celebration of Excellence

[Read more] ( about Panwang Huo's winning design.

“Celebration of Excellence,” the Texas A&M [Department of Architecture] ( ’s annual juried competition and awards presentation, took place May 9, 2017 at [The Icehouse on Main ] (,-96.3747129,17z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m5!3m4!1s0x864681a5afc286f5:0xa9202a5c10f559c8!8m2!3d30.6801!4d-96.3725242) in downtown Bryan.

“The event celebrated excellent student and faculty work from the past academic year,” said James Halliburton, associate department head and event organizer.

Master of Architecture student Panwang Huo earned Best Final Study Project award from a jury of distinguished architects and educators for his innovative [design] ( that reinvents a small Canadian city’s downtown with a massive, 130,000-square-foot market and community space.

The honor capped a day of 36 presentations by second-year graduate students, who offered three-minute descriptions of their final study projects to the jury, which convened behind closed doors to select the best project based on the presentations and supporting books provided prior to the event.

"Student projects showed knowledge and deployable architectural acumen that demonstrate high-quality design through all phases of conceptual, schematic, and design development," said Greg Luhan, the University of Kentucky John Russell Groves Endowed Professor of Architecture, who served as one of the expert jurors. "Across all of the projects, it was clear that each student successfully released their creative potential and gave it voice through architecture."

Also serving as 2018 Celebration of Excellence jurists were:

Posters and models of the best graduate and undergraduate design projects, as selected by college faculty, were also exhibited.

Following the presentations and a reception, faculty and student achievements were recognized at an awards ceremony.

The awards included recognition of the best portfolios submitted by undergraduates for admission to upper-level studies and the best integrated studio projects.

The American Institute of Architects’ [Henry Adams Medal and Certificate] ( was presented to Cristina Robalino.

For leadership, accomplishment, service and promise of professional merit, Victoria Villareal received the 2018 [Alpha Rho Chi Medal] ( .

Design faculty Alejandro Borges, Marcel Erminy and Ray Holliday received awards as the department's top educators based on a student vote.

The program concluded with each juror identifying and commenting on their favorite project, followed by the competition’s top design selection.

The Celebration of Excellence is a project of the Department of Architecture’s [Council of Excellence] ( , an elite group of department friends and former students committed to supporting and enhancing architecture program excellence, building relationships with students, and bridging gaps between the academic and professional worlds.

For past Celebration of Excellence highlights, visit the corresponding page 2012 , 2013 , 2014 , 2015 , 2016 and [2017] ( .

Richard Nira

posted April 30, 2018