Year-end giving could fully fund several college endowments

Larry Zuber

For more info
email Larry Zuber
or call him at

[Donate online] (

As many plan their year-end charitable giving, the College of Architecture is focused on completing projects launched by former students in honor of faculty members who played a very special role in their Texas A&M education and in their personal and professional lives after leaving College Station.

The newly-launched [George Mann Chair in Healthcare Design ] ( pays tribute to the 51-year teaching career of George Mann, who launched the healthcare architecture program at A&M and whose teaching and mentorship influenced dozens of generations of students, particularly those who went on to make their own mark in the profession. The chair will provide permanent support to the College of Architecture’s Center for Healthcare Systems & Design. With commitments from Ron Skaggs ’65, Joe Sprague ’70, Kirk Hamilton ’13, and other lead donors, the fundraising effort is halfway towards its $500,000 goal, which will be matched by the university to create a $1 million chair.

To donate to the Mann Chair, visit [] ( .

For many former students, Rodney Hill’s influence throughout his decades of teaching goes far beyond architectural design. Outstanding Alumnus Robert Shemwell ’82 and other former students and friends expressed appreciation for that influence with the establishment of the [Rodney Hill Professorship in Creativity and Design] ( , which will support future faculty members who continue Hill’s legacy of igniting the creative potential of future students, both in the studio and through extracurricular activities. This fundraising effort is nearly halfway to its $150,000 goal.

To donate to the Hill Professorship, visit [] ( .

Former students and friends of John Only Greer are only $3,000 shy of completing the $150,000 goal for the [John Only Greer Architectural Heritage Professorship] ( . A longtime professor of professional practice, Greer passed away in 2015. He was the College of Architecture’s second archivist, following in the footsteps of Ernest Langford. When Outstanding Alumni James Snyder ’78 and others proposed honoring him with the endowed faculty position, Greer requested that it be dedicated to the maintenance and enhancement of the College of Architecture archives, to venerate the lives and preserve works of visionary leaders, memorable faculty and talented former students and staff.

To donate to the Greer Professorship, visit [] ( .

Another endowed faculty position was launched by former students and friends of David Woodcock, who’s long been considered the dean of historic preservation studies in the College of Architecture. The [David Woodcock Professorship in Historic Preservation] ( is held by the current director of College of Architecture’s Center for Heritage Conservation, which provides interdisciplinary service and research aimed at understanding and preserving historic spaces and places. This $150,000 fundraising effort was launched by College of Architecture Outstanding Alumnus Kirby Keahey ’56 and Center for Heritage Conservation Fellows.

To donate to the Woodcock Professorship, visit [] ( .

For information on adding your own year-end support to these or other efforts supporting the College of Architecture, contact Larry Zuber of the Texas A&M Foundation at (979) 324-7539 or .  Gifts may also be made online at [] (

posted December 7, 2017