Acknowledgements: Fall 2016 Architecture-For-Health lectures

Ron Skaggs

Joe Sprague

Craig Beale

Judy Pruitt

The Fall 2016 Architecture-For-Health Lecture Series at Texas A&M University, “ The Global Impact of the Concept of 'Population Health' on the Design of Health Networks & Health Facilities ", features leading health facility designers, administrators, and construction executives from throughout the United States.

Donors, Patrons and Sponsors

The lecture series is made possible by the generous support of College of Architecture Outstanding Alumni Ronald L. Skaggs, chairman emeritus, and Joseph G. Sprague, principal and senior vice president, and Craig Beale, executive vice president and global healthcare director, all of [HKS Inc.] (

Ronald L. Skaggs, FAIA, FACHA, FHFI, LEED AP, is an adjunct professor of architecture at the Texas A&M College of Architecture and donor of the Ronald L. and Sondra Skaggs Endowed Professor in Health Facilities Design and The Skaggs-Sprague Endowed Chair in Health Facilities Design. He is also a distinguished alumnus of Texas A&M University.

Joseph G. Sprague, FAIA, FACHA, FHFI, is a principal and senior vice president, HKS Inc; past president, Facility Guidelines Institute; past president of the ACHA-American College of Healthcare Architects; past president of the AIA Academy of Architecture for Health and donor of the Skaggs-Sprague Endowed Chair in Health Facilities Design.

Craig Beale FAIA, FACHA, FACHE, LEED AP, executive vice president and global healthcare director at HKS, is the donor of the Craig & Julie Beale Endowed Professor of Health Facilities Design and of funds to the Student Health Environments Association.

This fall’s lecture series is presented by a collaboration of the

The lecture series is coordinated by George J. Mann, AIA, holder of the Ronald L. Skaggs Endowed Professorship of Health Facilities Design, Bita Kash, CHOT director, and associate professor of public health at the Texas A&M School of Public Health and Zhipeng Lu, CHSD associate director, with the assistance of Judy Pruitt, CHSD administrative assistant.

CHSD faculty research fellows: Dr. Ray Pentecost, director; Kirk Hamilton, associate director;  Zhipeng Lu, associate director; Bita Kash, Elton Abbott, Mark Avnet, Eric Bardenhagen, Liliana Beltran, Geoffrey Booth, John Bryant, James Burdine, Charles Culp, Michael Duffy, Bruce Dvorak, Thomas K. Ferris, Rodney Hill, Daniel Howard, Chang-Shan Huang, Jun-Hyun Kim, Sarel Lavy, Chanam Lee, Ming-Han Li, Wei Li, George Mann, Ranjita Misra, Forster Ndubisi, Galen Newman, Michael O’Brien, Marcia Ory, Jon Rodiek, Susan Rodiek, Zofia Rybkowski, Jinsil Hwaryoung Seo, Daniel Sheridan, Lou Tassinary, Lesley Tomaszewski, Brett Trusko, James Varni, Judith Warren, Ward Wells and Xuemei Zhu.

Research fellows from additional institutions include Mardelle Shepley, Minyoung Seo Cerruti, Ruzica Bozovic-Stamenovic, Debra Harris, Diana Anderson, U. Smart Ekanem, Emmanuel Umoh, Jean Njoroge, Macharia Waruingi, Tammy Thompson, and Warren Kerr.

Retired faculty fellows include Paul K. Carlton, Nancy Dickey, Don Sweeney and Sherry Bame.


[Texas A&M University] (

• Texas A&M College of Architecture

[Department of Architecture] (

• CHSD — [Center for Health Systems & Design] (

• SHEA  —  Student Health Environments Association

• GUPHA — Global University Programs in Health Care Architecture

• HIAC  — [Health Industry Advisory Council] (

• UIA / PHG  — [International Union of Architects Public Health Group] (!mission/c1sqc)

Center for Health Systems & Design

Health Industry Advisory Council:

[Earl Swensson Associates Inc.] (

[FKP Architects, Inc.] (

[HDR Architecture] (

[HKS Architects] (

[Page/] (

[CallisonRTKL] (

[WHR Architects] (

[Bates & Associates] (

[Taiwan Yonglin Healthcare Foundation] (

posted September 7, 2016